top of page

Anonymous #2

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion?

I am staunchly pro choice. Everyone should choose how their body is used. Even dead people are allowed to keep their organs if they wish, pregnant women should be offered the same option.


How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion?

Being adopted has definitely made me more pro choice.


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that?

Being asked if I would be okay with being aborted is triggering and I want to say yes, but keep quiet. Honestly, this is really depressing, but I often wish my birth mother had aborted me. I have severe mental illness and fibromyalgia. Besides that, it’s a rude, uncomfortable and disrespectful question.


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel?

Yes, my adoption has been used to support pro life beliefs. My parents are conservative and religious, so I was proof that choosing life is the only answer. It makes me angry.



Can you talk about a time when you felt pressured to have an opinion on abortion?

My sister (also adopted) got pregnant when she was 16 and wanted an abortion. In the state we’re from, she would have to get parental consent. I argued very hard against my parents, but they pretty much locked her in the house. She has a son who’s now 8 and they’re very happy. My grandma still makes underhanded comments to me that “it was a good thing she had that boy”.

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comentarios


bottom of page