top of page

Anonymous #4

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion? 

I have always had a great deal of sympathy for women who are unexpectedly pregnant and a great concern for women with forced pregnancies. I have helped several women escape from their abusers and have housed women who need to hide from their abusers. (Their partners were police officers and they weren’t safe in a shelter.) I had less sympathy for their doctors.


How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion? 

In the past, I was focused on my sympathy and concern for women and I expected that many women don’t understand exactly what an abortion accomplishes. They just want the problem to go away and they think of abortion as having a growth removed. I guess this sounds paternalistic but I am a long time high school teacher and I definitely hear about what my students believe and understand about such things! We have a pretty thorough ongoing sex education program in our state but still, there is so much confusion!

Since escaping my own abusive marriage a decade ago, my focus has changed. I have embraced my right to live and I have a bit of  outrage that some people don't think so. I have a right to live. Through DNA testing I have become acquainted with my half siblings and some cousins and have gained some understanding of my birth mother’s difficulties. I am sorry she.


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that?

Yes. I am SO grateful! When I was conceived in 1954, it was difficult to get an abortion and I am very, very grateful.


Can you talk about a time when you felt pressured to have an opinion on abortion?

I’ve always had an opinion on abortion

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Commentaires


bottom of page