top of page

Anonymous #9

Q1: How do you feel about abortion?

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health of the mother- ANY reason is the perfect reason to terminate! Full Stop!


Q2: How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion?

Being adopted hasn't effected my position on abortion at all. I grew up knowing I was adopted, and as I grew I came to understand that our bodies are our own and therein we should be able to decide what do and don't do with them.


Q3: Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

I think most vocal pro choice adoptees get this comment a lot 😅 my response is that I don't care either way. That often confuses forced birthers and they push for further comment so I just add that if I were aborted then I would feel nothing about it because I wouldn't be here to have an opinion or sentiment either way.

Some push further for answers and I just say, I would feel the same way you did before you were born or conceived- nothing because there's nothing to feel or remember or be before you have existing memory. They don't like it and can push beyond that so I typically finish with- "I have nothing further to say or add because nothing is exactly my point." If they push beyond that I just block them completely so they can enjoy the sweet nothings of nothingness 🤪


Q4: Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel? 

 Yes I do feel that adoptees are often misunderstood and pigeonholed in a lot of different aspects and abortion is definitely one of those topics.

It makes me feel that people are stupid because they don't understand, they don't adopt, they don't foster and they don't do anything to support their sentiments so its just lipservice and its annoying to say the least.

I found my biomom on Facebook and she's a religious lunatic who has "God bless the birth mother" posts on her account; but when I reached out for medical information she blocked me, changed her email address and I think thats hilarious.

Its like she thinks she did this amazing thing by placing me up for adoption and she's praising herself for it; but when I ask what I might die from she has no time to spare to answer my questions 😅

"God Bless the Birth Mother" but fuck the child- eh Sandra? 🤪


Q5: Can you talk about a time when you felt pressured to have an opinion on abortion?

I was raised in the Catholic church and attending Catholic schools so they pushed "Pro Life" on us pretty hard; but I never really bought into it. I was the girl at school who was talking yo my friends about birth control, taking them to clinics to get it and schedule abortions and going with friends to terminate their pregnancies so 🤷‍♀️

Even when I became pregnant with my 3rd child I didn't feel pressured. I had left my 2nd husband. I had 2 kids already. I didn't want or need a 3rd at that time and I couldn't even fathom adoption as option for me so termination made sense. I was in my early 30s. I went to the appointment alone and only a a handful of people in my real life know that I even did it. I cried. Not out of guilt; but sadness because I would have loved to have had a 3rd child (I always wanted 3); but the time and situation wasn't right- it couldn't have been much worse in fact... I'm OK with the choice I made and have no regrets- I'd do it again in heartbeat if I had to go back there. But it is sad that I wasn't able to have the 3rd. I'm allowed to feel sad about that without guilt.

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Anonymous #7

I was raised Christian, now atheist, have always been proc choice, others bodies and lives are theirs. I chose not to have an abortion for m

Comments


bottom of page