top of page

James Smythe

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion?

I am very much pro-choice.


How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion? 

I grew up never really caring about my adoption, and I never wanted kids from an early age myself, even though everyone told me I would change my mind and I was always pro-choice.


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

I am an atheist and have a very logical thought process. My opinion is that if I was aborted, I wouldn’t have existed, so it wouldn’t have made any difference.

A bit bleak, but I have struggled with mental health problems all my life and spent many years dealing with suicidal ideation. Part of me wishes I had been aborted, not so much because I want to be dead, but I would never have existed in the first place.

My less logical partner finds this thought process a bit upsetting because she wouldn’t have met me, but she can’t quite grasp that I wouldn’t have existed, so she wouldn’t know any differently.


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel? 

Yes/No – I grew up not caring about my adoption, but it is only in the past year or two that I have become aware of how my adoption is likely linked to my mental health problems.

I don’t think it was deliberately manipulative, but I think I was conditioned from an early age to think adoption is good. My adoptive parents told me about my adoption at a young age and always said I could look for my mother if I wanted, but my adoptive mother was always clearly visibly upset at the thought of this, so I think it conditioned me to never want to find my biological parents. It is only recently that I have become more aware of the problems associated with adoption. So yeah, I was a compliant child who went along with the rhetoric of adoption being good. I think most people have been conditioned to think adoption is wonderful, so they are a bit confused as to why I now have problems with it, especially as I had a “good” adoption with great adoptive parents.

Can you talk about a time when you felt pressured to have an opinion on abortion?

No not really. It has always been more people pressuring me into having children. I think, as a man, I am not always that vocal about my willingness to abort a child, as I realise it is not my choice. I would never pressure a partner into an abortion if she wanted to keep a child (thankfully, that situation has never happened). 

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comments


bottom of page