top of page

Laura

Oh... this could get long! Like most adoptees, I was subtly indoctrinated into the pro life agenda. However, I'd always struggled with the obvious, "Why me? If I'm really loved, why did they walk away? Why wasn't I aborted? Who am I? Do I belong anywhere?", ya know, that type of stuff around identity, belonging, and the meaning of love.


My 1st year of college, I left with an extra set of organs growing. I debated, but that was about the same time terrorists bombed an Atlanta abortion clinic and I was in Atlanta. Being in denial wasn't helping matters. I eventually couldn't handle it and went back home with the father. We had our son and there was no way I was going to let him go to an unknown predator (yes, divorce and abuse happened in this supposed "better home". Luckily, the abuse didn't live with us anymore).


As we were raising our son, I got pregnant when our son was about 5. I had just learned I was pregnant. I was at work and started spotting and by the time I got home, I was heavily bleeding. I needed to go to the hospital. I think it's flushed the fetus at home, but just kept bleeding. I was taken to the er, sat there the rest of the night, then had a D&C. I woke up with spontaneous abortion in my chart. My eyes were open. I started listening. That's my road to pro-choice.

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comments


bottom of page