top of page

Lia Huxtable

How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion?

I would say I feel that being adopted has not changed or affected my stance on abortion at all, but thinking now, being adopted does partially affect my views on not wanting a child, which could then lead to the question of whether I'd have an abortion if I ever became pregnant, but this is a hypothetical so I've never exactly dwelled on that. Otherwise, I would say that adoption does not affect my stance on abortion.


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel?

I've definitely seen adoption be used as a rhetoric to push pro-life arguments (e.g: give birth then put the child up for adoption instead of abort) which I'm very unhappy to see, seeing as I'm pro-choice, but I've never personally seen my adoption be used to bolster an argument.

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comments


bottom of page