top of page

Lisa Mangano


I feel it is up to the mother and no one else. Whoever is bearing child should decide if they need to abort or not. It should not be controlled by men. 


How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion?

I had an open adoption and it was very traumatic. I grew up sort of knowing my biological siblings but not really. They always treated me as an outsider even though I was biologically related to them. The family taking me in at 3 months old ended up emotionally and physically abusing me for years till I could move out at 18. If I could’ve had a say I would’ve told my biological mother to abort me rather than put me up for adoption and put me through all this pain and misery that I will have to deal with for the rest of my life. 


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

It’s insulting because the people stating that are choosing not to acknowledge the trauma that adoptees have to deal with. Growing up I was told “be grateful you’re not in a ditch somewhere” but I ended up getting adopted into an abusive household the ditch would’ve been nicer or if I was aborted, I wouldn’t have had to deal with abusive adoptive parents or knowing that my biological family dislikes how I turned out. 


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel?

Yes 100%. People assume it’s sunshine and roses. You're given a second chance at life you should be fine but It’s not like that at all there’s a lot of things people don’t know about that happens. A lot of people don’t have a proper education or researching of what adoptees go through. It’s not this “you saved me” idea everyone has. 


Can you talk about a time when you felt pressured to have an opinion on abortion?

I’ve never felt pressured but I did have issues with my biological family a year ago as they reached out to me about how they felt pressured about having to visit me because I had an open adoption. They said they would’ve said no to seeing me but at the time they were 16-17. I felt compelled to say well would you have rather me just be aborted than so you don’t have to deal with the burden of having a random sibling out there? They didn’t like that very well. 

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comentários


bottom of page