top of page

Maria Soledad

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion?

When I bring up being adopted in conversations about abortion the people are often

confused by my opinion which is not the common one on this subject, in my opinion all people who want to have a child should be very sure that they can take care of them, love them and above all, not forget that this is a person you want to share your life with, not reject when they have an illness, something unusual, etc.


How do you feel being adopted has affected your opinion on abortion? 

In my case, I am determined that I will not take care of another person just because of

an illusion or an accident, having a person in your care is a very big responsibility

because they should not abandon other human beings. In my adoption, people had the possibility to reject me, i.e. the first parents to see my documents could say that they wanted another baby. So, I do think that my adoption conditions my opinion on motherhood and abortion.


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

Yes, I am glad that I am not dead, that I was chosen by two people who know how to

love a daughter without prejudice, to be able to defend that everyone deserves a life

because it is their right as a living being. It is true that there are many cases in which the

situation is difficult and the best solution for health is abortion and it is perfectly

understandable.


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel?  

My personal experience has been misinterpreted at times in a quiet conversation with a

group of people of the same age but without any harmful purpose towards me or the

adopted persons, for example, there are people who do not want to take the risk of

giving a painful and suffering life for the whole family if they know that the baby has a

rare disease with no cure or where the whole body is completely immobile.

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

コメント


bottom of page