top of page

Melanie Martinez

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion?

It’s obviously complicated. I was adopted at birth by a Catholic family and grew up in the 70s amid hard-core anti-abortion propaganda. Under the age of 12, I bought into it all because I saw the grisly photos of supposedly aborted fetuses. In adolescence I began questioning Catholicism as a whole, as well as the government, and began to absorb information from outside sources. While those images of fetuses still disturb me today, I realize I was manipulated by propaganda. In time, I learned to understand how complicated life is, and how so many variables. A woman should have control of her own body and medical choices. As a teen who was anxious to leave home and start my own life, I understood how having a baby could derail my entire future. It would be a nightmare for anyone who did not want a child at that time. 


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

My response is “Sometimes I wish I WAS aborted.”  As a logical person, I understand that I could have been aborted and would never know about it. Was I even a person then? I have often wished I’d been aborted so I would not know the pain I’ve felt related to being adopted. Both my birth parents and adoptive parents were/are good people so it’s not even about my upbringing. It’s simply a soul wound. I found my birth mother and she told me that she did go to Mexico to have an abortion (me—1963), but got scared and a friend came down and got her home before she did it. I am not at all hurt by thinking I could have been aborted. 

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

コメント


bottom of page