top of page

Renee Murphy

As an adoptee how do you feel about the issue of abortion?

As an Adoptee, I think I am more supportive of women's right to abortion than I would have been without being an adoptee. I have seen first had the impact a child has on an unprepared family. It wasn't just my biological parents having the baby, but the impact of adoption and the impact on the entire family. It was very hard on both sets of grandparents and impacted all involved entire life in a negative way.


Many adoptees have been asked "Aren't you glad you weren't aborted?", what is your response to that? 

I say while I am grateful for my life, I think it would have been ok and potentially better for my entire biological family if I had not been born. It created such waves of despair and disconnection. I would not have known if I hadn't been born, but they all know I was and was taken from them.


Have you ever felt like your experience of being an adoptee has been misrepresented or used to advance a certain rhetoric? How does this make you feel?

The whole idea that adoption solves the problem of babies brought into unwanted and unprepared situations is insane. It disregards the child as a being with feelings they will have to live with for their entire life. I do not feel grateful I was adopted and saved from that life. I resent that adoption is used in this way to make anti-choice people feel better when they don't really know the impact to the adoptees. (mental health especially)

 


Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comentários


bottom of page