top of page

Ruby Green

I remember at university my lecturers would consistently push their political views in an inappropriate way when I just wanted to learn about the course which was Illustration.  One particular time I found to be personally hurtful was when I was in a group of girls proposing a magazine.  One of the girls wanted to do two pictures of women after an abortion - one looking sad and one looking relieved.  Her view was very mature and open to different perspectives.  The male lecturer thinking he was pandering to what he supposed was obvious feminism said that abortion was the natural option because adoption didn't always work.  I felt so devalued as an adoptee by his dismissive attitude, I don't think he remembered that I was adopted.  A female lecturer who was also there looked very awkward and I think was embarrassed by his arrogance.  I wasn't angry at him being pro-abortion, I was angry that he not kept neutral by assuming that all women are pro-abortion and prioritized looking good in front of students instead of considering the complexities of the question.  I felt like I was nothing in his eyes.  

Recent Posts

See All

Rae

The experience of being an adoptee has always been misrepresented and will continue to be misrepresented until adoptees are seen as the

Anonymous #9

I feel no one should be forced to carry a pregnancy if they chose not do so for ANY reason. No exceptions for rape, incest, life or health

Anonymous #8

My AP’s were very much pro forced birth and my Adad would regularly say he was glad I didn’t end up in a bucket. There wasn’t much room to h

Comments


bottom of page